Two For One

May 15, 2007 at 4:38 pm | Posted in Life in general | Leave a comment

4. If you could tell any one person a particular thing, what would that thing be? Include the person if you want.

I generally am not one to hold back on telling people things actually, so this is a tougher question than you might think. It is probably a rarer occurrence to actually withhold telling someone something than it would be to let them in on it, so I can’t actually think of something off the top of my head. Well…except…hmmm…

I guess it wouldn’t necessarily be to “tell” someone something, but I think it would be for them to actually “hear” me, and to actually know what I’m saying…to believe me. I have a friend who I think is deeply unhappy. Although she is not alone, she is lonely. And I have been there once upon a time, so I genuinely sympathize.

I wish I could tell her that she will be OK. She is smart, beautiful, and unique. She has been made specially and wonderfully for a specific purpose. She brings light to more people than she knows, and she is deeply loved. And she is never, and will never be, alone.

And I wish she would actually be able to hear me, since I have told her these things in not so many words. I have been in that spot, although I also remember what it’s like to hear and not believe. To think those words are empty, and that no one truly understands. I remember the searching, the grasping for love, and the disappointment. And the fear.

But I also remember the hope. I remember taking one step towards a future when I reached out. When I walked into a church the first time. When I actually came to the realization that I am loved regardless of my faults and despite of my imperfections. When I started to accept forgiveness. When I started to know what it felt like to be loved – the pure, healthy, unconditional kind. And when I realized that even the people who are most ‘put-together’ on the outside, are really only half-way there on the inside anyways.

And I wish she could realize these things too. I wish I knew how to formulate the words to touch her in the deepest way. And so I guess that’s my answer, in a very round-about way. And all I can do is pray for it to happen and keep trying. It’s bound to stick one of these times.

5. What draws you back to any particular blog?

I am drawn to blogs that are a few specific things – relatable, humorous, and clever. I not only relate to people who are like me now, but who have facets of their lives that they share that I relate to at some point in my story. I have not always been here, where it’s sunny most days. And I enjoy hearing about life elsewhere. And remembering how resilient we are, how things change so quickly when we aren’t paying attention, and finding comfort in the fact that even if we don’t know each other, we really aren’t alone in our thoughts and experiences. We are all spectacularly unique, but we are surprisingly similar.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

